Site map Contact us Bulletin Board Like on Facebook Follow on Twitter RSS

Alfred Jarry Celebrated in Philadelphia
By Maria Goldverg
posted: 04-18-11
The first of April marked the opening of The Insolent Eye: Jarry in Art at Locks Gallery in Philadelphia, PA. Beautifully curated, it fulfilled its promise: "to recreate the beguiling atmosphere of Jarry's absurdist scenarios" and ground them in a "historical prologue." In ...more

Picasso's Super-Readymade?
By Eli Epstein-Deutsch
posted: 04-16-11
A little while ago on this site I mentioned Flavorwire's slideshow of modern and contemporary bicycle art (http://flavorwire.com/161998/the-unofficial-flavorwire-art-bike-survey), and noted a few omissions. However, I neglected one of the most significant contributions to the field: Picasso's " ...more

New History of Puns Rehabilitates Key Avant-Garde Device
By Eli Epstein-Deutsch
posted: 04-14-11
Can't get enough of puns? Do your friends start to cringe and gag when you bust out your idea of a quality joke in their presence? Maybe next occasion, gift them a copy of "The Pun Also Rises," forthcoming from champion punner and communications expert John Pollack. The book seems bent ...more

recommend: Found Sound
By Eli Epstein-Deutsch
posted: 04-12-11
For fans of Duchamp, John Cage, and the readymade, this unassuming tumblr is worth a peruse. "Found- sound" collects miscellaneous abandoned recording cartridges, displaying photographs of the casette tapes in various states of disrepair, along with excerpts from the audio contained within ...more

Avowed Conceptualism (Gone Awry?) in Berlin
By Eli Epstein-Deutsch
posted: 04-11-11
Outside my apartment in Berlin is Schloss Charlottenburg, a large Baroque palace once occupied by Friedrich the Great, and its manicured grounds hat were designed to ape the gardens at Versailles. Further into the "Schlosspark" is a tangle of woods and wildlife home to sleek foxes and ...more

First   Prev |   Pages : 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30   | Next   Last  
See All
© MarcelDuchamp.net  / Marcel Duchamp Images copyright © Succession Marcel Duchamp, ARS, N.Y./ADAGP, Paris.    RSS